• October 26, 2016
  • -

Wood floors are an excellent addition to any home because they bring in a classic feeling. A good wood floor will add character, warmth, as well as value to your home. As a homeowner interested in wood floors, you have to realize that wood floors are not equal. Different species of wood making up the floors have different characteristics. Bull Run Kitchen and Bath is here to help you understand these characteristics to make it easier for you to choose the right wooden floor for your needs.

  1. Red Oak

Red oak is perhaps the most common wood floor in residential houses. A red oak floor is durable because of its hardness. Red oak also comes in a variety of colors as well as holding different stains evenly. This type of wood floor is for homeowners who prefer strongly visible grain patterns.


  1. Ash

Ash is harder than oak but the grain pattern is less apparent in ash than it is in oak. Ash can hold stain colors extremely well and most people prefer ash floors that are lightly stained. The cost of an ash floor is slightly higher than that of red oak. This is because of the consistent grain pattern as well as the lighter shade.


  1. Pine

Pine floors are for individuals who want character in their floors and are not disgruntled when the floor never looks clean. Pine is softwood although the hardness of the wood will depend on the species of the pine. Pine floors usually have many knots and pinholes, which is the reason for their popularity. The main disadvantage of a pine floor is the softness of pine, which makes it easier to dent especially when under heavy furniture or heavy foot traffic.


  1. Bamboo

You might not believe it but bamboo floors are as hard as red oak floors. This type of floor is usually stained with lighter colors to display the fibrous grain pattern. Bamboo floors are excellent for modern houses and they are extremely stable as well as almost irresistible to wear and tear.

  • 1537
  • 0